EDC3100 – Week 1: Mindset and Frustrations

Mindset

While making my way through the Week 1 learning path, I came upon the Toolbelt Theory which provided a quiz that we could undertake. It is titled “Test Your Mindset” and aims to determine wether you have a fixed or growth mindset based on the answer you provide. You can have a go at finding your mindset here.

And my results…

You agreed with 3 of Fixed Mindset statements and 5 of Growth Mindset Statements. You have mostly a Growth Mindset. The book will show you how to apply that mindset most effectively.

Unfortunately, I do not have access to a hardcopy of the book mentioned, but the website provides a wealth of information about mindset.

Dweck (2010) discusses how a persons mindset affects their success throughout different occupations. As a pre-service teacher, I was delighted that there was a specific page for parents, teachers and coaches. When you get a chance, I highly recommend having a look through the link provided to enable you to better succeed during professional experience. Interestingly, Dweck (2010) briefly discusses “How Praise Can Harm, and How To Use it Well. When, What, and How to Criticize. Why Bright Children (and Talented Athletes) Stop Working and What To Do About It. How To Communicate The Values That Bring Success.” I’m sure this would be covered further in the Mindset book.

I feel that the most important information to take away from the success page is…

…every word and action sends a message. It tells children – or students or athletes – how to think about themselves. It can be a fixed mindset message that says: “You have permanent traits and I’m judging them.” Or it can be a growth mindset message that says: ‘You are a developing person and I am interested in your development”

(Dweck, 2010)

Frustrations

Having not completed many subjects during 2014 due to the pregnancy and subsequent birth of my daughter, I found it difficult (can I blame baby brain?) to reflect on the frustrations or the most time-consuming tasks I have faced with ICTs. The most prevalent in my memory from prior to 2014 would have to be during the assignments required in EDX1280. This subject required us to use Mahara ePortfolio to present mathematical information on different topics. While I thought it would be a simple task, I was extremely time consuming and when things would not work as I expected them to, I was ready to tear my hair out. Having progressed through the Week 1 learning path, I now understand that I did not understand the schemata/model of ePortfolio and as such I was unable to completely manipulate it to perform the tasks I needed to perform. From memory I didn’t fail that assignment but there was definitely improvements I could have made had I understood the model of ePortfolio better.

Dweck. (2010). Mindeset (Online). Retrieved March 2, 2015 from http://mindsetonline.com/index.html

Leave a comment